The Nunavut Labour Standards Board consists of as many as five members. Below are brief biographies of the Board's current members.


Aruthur Yuan - Chair 

Arthur Yuan is Legal Counsel for Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated ("NTI"), the land claims organization representing the Inuit of Nunavut, being its Managing Legal Counsel from 2007 to 2020 and having lived and worked in Iqaluit from 2007 to 2020.

Aruthur had worked in law firms in Toronto and New York from 2001 to 2007 (with a brief break in 2005), and as in-house legal counsel for a comprehensive holding corporation in China between 1993 and 1998. Arthur's practice had focused on the areas of aboriginal law, administrative law, corporate, business litigation, employment, real estate and international business transactions.

Arthur was past president of the Law Society of Nunavut and has been serving on the Nunavut Labour Standards Board since 2009 (with a break from 2015 to 2017).

Arthur obtained his bachelor of law (LL.B.) degree from Renmin University of China Law School (Beijing, China) in 1993 and his Juris Doctor degree (magna cum laude) from Albany Law School of Union University (Albany, New York) in 2001. He received his certificate of qualifications from the Federation of Law Societies of Canada in 2006. Arthur is admitted to practice law in Nunavut, Ontario and New York, and was also qualified to practice law in China.


Natsiq Kango

Born and raised in Iqaluit, Natsiq Kango moved to Arctic Bay to raise her own family. She has a business background in a variety of different businesses. Natsiq attended Sir Martin Frobisher School for education. She now has children and grandchildren. Natsiq was elected to Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. as Secretary and Treasurer for 3 years, as well as serving as town councillor in Iqaluit for 3 years. She was a member of the Society of Gynecologists of Canadea (SOGC), Canadian Midwives, and was both a member and executive member of Midwives of Nunavut. She has been Adoption Commissioner for Nunavut since 2011. Natsiq worked as a counselor at Inuksuk High School for 4 years, and one year in Inuujaq School in Arctic Bay. She is now working for Baffinland Mines as a Community Resources Coordinator. Natsiq speaks and writes both Inuktut and English. 


Sara Siebert

Sara Siebert was appointed to the Labour Standards Board in December 2018.

Sara is currently based in Iqaluit, Nunavut. Her practice is concentrated in the area of criminal defence at the trial and appellate levels. Sara is Counsel for Elections Nunavut and is the Deputy Law Clerk of the Legislative Assembly of Nunavut. Sara also sits on the Nunavut Criminal Review Board (NCRB). Sara is the Federation Council Member appointed by the Law Society of Nunavut.

Before moving to Iqaluit, she worked as a criminal defense staff lawyer for the Legal Services Board of Nunavut and held the positions of Lead Criminal Counsel and Clinic Director for the Kitikmeot Law Centre in Cambridge Bay. Before moving to Nunavut, she maintained a criminal defence practice in Ottawa. In Ottawa, she was Chair of the Board of Directors of the Community Legal Services Ottawa-Centre (2007-2009). From 2007 to 2016 Sara was Legal Officer (Reserve) with the Office of the Judge Advocate General. In that time, she deployed as a legal advisor on Canadian Forces Operations and was an instructor at the Military Law Centre in Kingston, Ontario.

Sara graduated from Dalhousie University with a BA (Hons) in Political Science and International Development Studies (1999). She attended Trinity College, University of Dublin, and received her LLB in 2003 and a Masters in Letters (MLitt) focusing on International Criminal Law in 2005. She also holds a MA (International Affairs) from the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs (NPSIA), Carleton University (2009). In 2003 Sara completed the FLSC National Committee on Accreditation course studies and in 2004-2005 clerked for Justice Louis LeBel of the Supreme Court of Canada. She was a member of the Law Society of Upper Canada (now Law Society of Ontario) in 2005-2020 and was admitted to the Law Society of Nunavut in 2014.